Monday, 13th July 2020

This Month's Magazine

Golf News & "Thistle Test Ye!"

Golf news & quiz

Wie misses cut after late slump
Michelle Wie suffered agony at the John Deere Classic as dropped shots on two of her last four holes saw her miss the cut by two strokes. The 15-year-old was four under with four to play but a double bogey at the sixth followed by a bogey cost her.  

Owen renews attack on R&A chiefs
Mansfield’s Greg Owen has renewed his attack on the Royal and Ancient Club after he was denied a spot in the Open. Bob Tway replaced Billy Mayfair as the next highest non-exempt player on the world rankings but Owen, Jeff Maggert and Arron



Campbell worries over Open safety
US Open champion Michael Campbell is concerned that security will not be tight enough at St Andrews following the London bombings. “I am heading to St Andrews with genuine concerns,” said the Kiwi.


Monty aims to return to the elite
Colin Montgomerie has set himself a target of regaining a place in the top 10 of the world rankings. Montgomerie has been steadily climbing the rankings in recent months and is currently 40th, having been 81st at the beginning of the year.

Olazabal handed Seve’s Open spot
Seve Ballesteros has been forced to pull out of  the next Open at St Andrews as he has failed to recover from a knee injury. The 48-year-old, who won the second of his three Open titles at St Andrews in 1984, has not played competitively since 2003 because of injury problems.

Thistle Test Ye! (see below)

Send answers by e-mail to by 5th September 2005.
The first correct answer to be drawn will be the winner of a voucher for a free golf lesson for winning entrant or nominee.


Thistle test ye!

Presented by: Ian MacLeod M.P.G.T.G. European Golf Teaching Professional European Golf Teachers Federation Professional Golf Teachers Guild


Ball at rest, moved.

Q. In stroke play, a competitor’s caddie practises on a putting green and tests the surfaces of the course before the competitor tees off. Is the competitor disqualified for breach of rules restricting practice before or between rounds?

Send the answers by e mail to or by any other written method to reach us by 5th September. The first correct answer to be drawn will be the winner of a voucher for a free golf lesson for the winning entrant or nominee.


Answer to June's question:  A ball which has been lifted and not put back into play is equipment. In match play, A incurs a penalty and B must replace his ball. 

Last Month’s winner was: Mary Burton - Edinburgh, Scotland.

Start Blogging:
Other related businesses