Thursday, 17th October 2019
SPORTS & LEISURE Article
Advertisment

This Month's Magazine

Golf News & "Thistle Test Ye"

Golf News & Quiz


Monty maintains innocence in saga
Colin Montgomerie insists that he did nothing wrong at the Indonesian Open despite accusations he broke the rules. The Scot escaped punishment but donated his prize money to charity after admitting he replaced his ball in the wrong place after play had been halted.

 

Perry storms to Colonial victory
Kenny Perry cruised to a seven-shot win in the Colonial at Fort Worth, a record-equaling 19-under total giving him his second win in the tournament. Only a double-bogey six at the 17th hole prevented him beating the tally he set when winning the event in 2003.

 

Cabrera holds nerve at Wentworth
Argentine Angel Cabrera held off a strong challenge from Irishman Paul McGinley to win the BMW Championship by two shots at Wentworth. Cabrera shot a five-under-par 67 to finish on 15 under and seal his first European Tour title for three years.

 

Davies comes close in Austria
Britain’s Laura Davies finished tied for third on 11-under at the Siemens Austrian Ladies Golf Open. Davies, chasing her first European title for 14 months, closed with a 71 to share third with Marta Prieto of Spain and America’s Kris Lindstrom.


Wilson’s amateur title hopes over
Stuart Wilson’s bid to become the first player to defend his British Amateur Championship title came to an abrupt end in the first round of matchplay. The 27-year-old, who only just scraped through qualifying, lost 5&4 to Welshman James Williams.

Thistle test ye! (see below)

Send answers by e-mail to   editor@webexpressguide.com by 4th July 2005.
The first correct answer to be drawn will be the winner of a voucher for a free golf lesson for winning entrant or nominee.


Advertisment

Thistle test ye!

Presented by: Ian MacLeod M.P.G.T.G. European Golf Teaching Professional European Golf Teachers Federation Professional Golf Teachers Guild

  

Ball at rest, moved.

Q. During match play, player A lifts his ball on the putting green. He then accidentally drops the ball and it strikes and moves B his opponent’s ball which is in play and at rest. What is the ruling?

Send the answers by e mail to editor@webexpressguide.com or by any other written method to reach us by 4th July. The first correct answer to be drawn will be the winner of a voucher for a free golf lesson for the winning entrant or nominee.

 

Answer to May's question:  When the ball in play moved after it was addressed, the player
incurred a penalty stroke and was obliged to replace the ball. 
 

Last Month’s winner was: Bob Schoffield from Malaga.



Start Blogging:
Other related businesses