Thursday, 17th October 2019
SPORTS & LEISURE Article
Advertisment

This Month's Magazine

Golf & "Thistle test ye"

Golf News & Quiz

Ballesteros eyes Spanish comeback
Spanish legend Seve Ballesteros plans to return to action at the Spanish Open on 14 April, following a 17-month absence because of injury problems. The former Open and Masters champion, who will be 48 next week, feared his career was over last summer when he was diagnosed with an arthritic back.

Woosnam support for Montgomerie
Ryder Cup captain Ian Woosnam believes Colin Montgomerie deserves an invite to this year’s Masters at Augusta. Augusta National officials have so far failed to invite the Scot to the first major of 2005 after he failed to get into the world’s top 50.

Montgomerie misses out on Masters
Seven-times European number one Colin Montgomerie will not play in the Masters after failing to receive a last-minute invitation. The Scot failed to qualify as he is not ranked in the world’s top 50.

European Tour contemplates base move
The European Tour could be set to move its headquarters from Wentworth in Surrey to mainland Europe. Tour boss George O’Grady said the feasibility of a new base and flagship golf course similar to the US Tour’s Sawgrass facility is being studied.

Bjorn to sponsor new Danish event
European Tour stalwart Thomas Bjorn is to sponsor a new Challenge Tour event in his native Denmark this summer. The 34-year-old, the first Dane to play in the Ryder Cup, won the Challenge Tour order of merit in his third and final season in 1995.

Thistle test ye! (see below)

Send answers by e-mail to   editor@webexpressguide.com by 4th May 2005.
The first correct answer to be drawn will be the winner of a voucher for a free golf lesson for winning entrant or nominee.


Advertisment

Thistle test ye!

Mud on ball touches putting green but ball does not.
Presented by: Ian MacLeod M.P.G.T.G. European Golf Teaching Professional
   
Q.  A player’s ball lies off the putting green, overhanging but not touching
the green.
A clump of mud adhering to the ball touches the green.
Is the ball considered to be on the green?

Send the answers by e mail to editor@webexpressguide.com or any other written method to reach us by 4th April. The first correct answer to be drawn will be the winner of a voucher for a free golf lesson for the winning entrant or nominee.

 

Answer to March’s question:
No. A player is entitled to remove loose impediments covering a ball in a hazard only if the ball is not visible from any angle.

Last Month’s winner was: Chris Mager from Estepona.



Start Blogging:
Other related businesses